No, the ball does not have to bounce when it is hit back and forth in table tennis. However, if you let the ball hit your side of the table (the “table” surface with no net in between), there are restrictions on where you can hit it, depending on the type of serve.
4 Answers. Eric Patino. , D.O. Medical Students, Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine (2022) Answered 3 years ago. Usually, no, you can hit it before it bounces (called a volley), although the ever-increasing shot speed by players over the years has made most more afraid of volleying than ever. However, the first shot of the point, called the serve, can’t be hit before it bounces.
The ball must first bounce out before the player can touch it. Also, a player loses a point if his/her clothing makes contact with the ball, or his/her hand that is holding the racket touches the...
Well, as I always say, let's look at the rules! Rule 24.b. of the ITF Rules of Tennis says that a player loses the point if “The player does not return the ball in play before it bounces twice consecutively . . . .” So, in our match, if the ball bounced twice before my opponent returned it, she lost the point. What's a “not up” ball?
Section 41 states: “ Catching a ball. If a player catches a ball before it bounces, the player loses the point regardless of where the player is standing.”. And Code Section 6 reminds us that the opponent always gets the benefit of the doubt. Here's how I saw this played out in a ZAT-level match involving 12 year-olds.
If the ball, due to extreme spin, bounce on your opponent’s side, without your opponent making a touch, even, and spins back over the net and falls on your own side, it is a point for you. Serve changes after every two points. However, if tied at 10-10, the serve changes after every point.
Yes. Tennis balls will bounce less over time even if you don’t use them. That’s because the pressurized air inside the ball leaks out over time causing a drop in pressure. Consequently, the ball has less kinetic energy after impacting the surface resulting in a lower bounce. However, if you purchase some new tennis balls in a can, the balls ...
If a ball bounces in your court but spins or is blown back over the net to your opponent’s side, then you are allowed to reach over the net to hit the ball. However, you or anything you wear must not hit the net. If the ball passes around the net posts below the height of the net, but lands in bounds.